Seven arrangements that can be played separately or as a sequence. In the order given, they offer a suite of contrasting tempi and moods, from a rousing version of Ding dong merrily on high to Silent Night; from a boisterous God Rest ye Merry, Gentlemen to the gentle lullaby, Rocking; from the rollicking Sussex Carol (On Christmas Night, all Christians Sing) to the stark harmonies of the Coventry Carol. To finish we have We Three Kings of Orient Are, full of 'eastern' melodic minor chromaticisms. The parts are slightly challenging, and should offer fun to players and audience alike. Some of these arrangements have been used in rather different form elsewhere. In the case of the Coventry Carol I have retained the sixteenth-century harmonies - it would be invidious to do otherwise, and it sounds wonderful on recorders (no vibrato in this, please!). I have ventured a moderately ornamented version in places, however.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Douglas Brooks-Davies. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Douglas Brooks-Davies has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.