Piano Lessons Starter Pack: for teachers and parent with young children

Year of composition
Not applicable (e.g. worksheet)
Instrumental parts
Not available

Piano Tutor Books invariably begin with a page of closely typed script devoted to Musical Rudiments. Presumably (and before playing a single note), the student is first expected to read and understand such things as clefs, staves, fingering, note values and time signatures. This is a daunting task for any beginner, especially the very young one. This Starter Pack could be of help to the Parent or Teacher, and the Child who is taking those crucial first steps towards mastering the piano, for it allows exploration - together – of Musical Rudiments in a way that is practical and fun. Black keys in 2’s and 3’s are actually played; pulse is felt (through the feet and hands); notes are handled creatively; confidence grows and the musical imagination is stimulated.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by John Wilson. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com John Wilson has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.