Ocean Suite, Op. 9

in four movements for clarinet and piano

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
12 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument + piano (Clarinet in Bb)
Instrumental parts

A suite in four movements for clarinet and piano.

(Forces: cl, p)

In four movements, the music is programmatic with each movement representing an aspect of the ocean. The first movement, ‘Prelude’ is an introduction, itself subject to a brief introduction hinting at the theme heard in the final movement, before progressing to the movement proper.

Next is ‘Waves’, softer in tonal qualities, and more lyrical. Written in clear melody and accompaniment, the music hypnotically flows back and forth simulating the natural motion of waves lapping against the shore.

The climatic ‘Horizon’ starts quietly, subdued, but gradually increases in volume and tension. It represents the storm on the horizon approaching slowly until it envelops all around. Almost as though it was all imagined, the movement ends, and the storm dissipates.

Lastly, ‘Deep Blue’ represents the calm after the storm and conclusion for the suite. The repeated ostinatos metaphoric representations of sparkling and trickling of running water. Quotations of the suite’s introduction are heard throughout giving the listener closure.

Copyright © 2017 Dylan Christopher, all rights reserved.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Dylan Christopher. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Dylan Christopher has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.