Rorate Coeli

for unaccompanied SATB choir

Advent plainchant, arr. Philip Le Bas
Year of arrangement
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
4 minutes
Classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

This setting of the traditional Advent plainchant is based around a harmonized refrain using the original Latin words: "Rorate coeli de super et nubes pluant justum" ("Drop down, O heavens, from above and let the skies pour down *justice".) The music and the words express the Advent theme of a cry for justice and salvation in the midst of despair. The traditional verses making up the Advent Prose, based on various parts of scripture, are sung in English unison plainchant, and they express the feelings of one living through a disaster (specifically the fall of Jerusalem in the sixth century BC.) The third and fourth stanzas become more hopeful in their words, especially the famous words (from Isaiah 40) "Comfort, O comfort my people," Here the setting introduces some gentle harmonization, leading to a final return of the "Rorate" chorus in unison and a harmonized hope-filled coda.

* Alternatively: "…the Just One"

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Philip Le Bas. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Philip Le Bas has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.