'Colchester' Overture, Op. 10

Concert Overture in C major for Orchestra

Dylan Christopher
Full details...
page one of 'Colchester' Overture, Op. 10

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Overture for symphony orchestra.

(Forces: ww[], br[], timp, perc[5], str[])

This orchestral work was written to honour Colchester, “Britain’s oldest town”.

I moved to Colchester to study at Colchester Institute in 2007, as a student; the completion of this piece in 2017 marked ten years living in this town full of history and culture.

The writing of this piece of music started in September 2012, incidentally five years after moving to the town, and two years after graduating, my undergraduate studies. However, it was not completed due to a compositional hiatus, prompted by a large increase in private teaching work, and solo piano study and other performance opportunities.

Work resumed in September 2017, after prolific compositional activity, largely due to words of encouragement from Dr Mark Bellis, the dedicatee, and compositional mentor while studying at Colchester Institute.

In a single movement, the music follows a ternary structure following an unrepeated, extended, sonata form and related modulations. Optimistic from the outset, the music is in C major, featuring the rising motive heard in the opening bars throughout the music. The use of percussion is symbolic of Colchester’s status as a Garrison town; specifically, the ostinato rhythm of the snare drum implying a march.

Copyright © 2017 Dylan Christopher, all rights reserved.

Score ID
Dylan Christopher
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
7 minutes
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for 'Colchester' Overture, Op. 10

Reviews of 'Colchester' Overture, Op. 10

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...