Story of a Reel Man

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Large mixed ensemble
Instrumental parts
Not available

A Calypso, of sorts, as if Ligeti (or one of that crowd) suddenly took an interest in such forms. In the original performance by the Dignity of Labour Ensemble, the interlude consisted of the bass and drum parts offered here, plus curious percussion from the rest of the ensmble, and the recitation by Peter Lonergan of the following (decidedly subshakespearean) peroration:

The unoriginal rhinoceros on the dollar bill, Worshipped by financiers, calcium junkies, albatrosses, Signals fine crosses near Fam?ly Values and Main. Recalcitrant miscreants shipped by the bosses, Are but fancier callers of unrefined strain. Under their overcoats, above most calumny, Alkali animals miscalculate shrilly Their egregiously unsheathed financial losses, Event?ally yielding drunken alimony, Tripped strategically across their mammalian brain. A serious camel neither soars nor tosses Prancingly hither toward bright boats, Precambrian, Shielded handily or knotted all: ignoble Dancer amidst Mammon?s massive trouble.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Michael Morse. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Michael Morse has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.