Divertimento for Woodwind Quartet

Full details...
page one of Divertimento for Woodwind Quartet

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Divertimento is in three movements. The first movement Frolic has three main thematic ideas. The first contains dotted rhythms, staccato articulation, and meter change. The second thematic idea is related to the first in that it also uses dotted rhythms and meter change, but is more legato and begins with more sustained notes. The third thematic section is thinner in texture, more playful, and has a legato theme over a staccato background. The motivic material in each of these sections has similarities. Contrast is primarily obtained through change of style and mood. These thematic ideas develop throughout the movement by varying key, instrumentation, and melodic material. There are several sections of imitation that are very energetic.

The second movement Ballad is lyrical at an Andante tempo. The form of the movement is through-composed as the motives develop into new variations instead of having clearly distinguished themes. There is however a recapitulation that brings the listen back to the opening material. The main motives that develop are a sixteenth note pattern that is arpeggiated and also stepwise, a dotted quarter and eighth note idea that is often on weak beats as well as appearing on strong beats, and scalewise eighth note lines. All of these interweave among the parts with frequent counterpoint and some imitation. The harmony is lush with seventh chords used frequently.

The last movement Tarantella is in a lively tempo. The form of this movement is a large ABA(Scherzo, Trio, Scherzo). The A sections are in triple meter while the B section is in duple. The A section is in three parts, forming an ABA within the large A. The material for the first part is motivically derived. The first motive is a dotted eighth, sixteenth, eighth note followed by even eighth notes. The second motive is four chromatic sixteenth notes followed by an eighth note. This motive appears both ascending and descending. The B section within this large A consists of a slurred melodic line that has both stepwise motion and leaps. It is accompanied by staccato chromatic eighth notes. The large B section is folksong-like and is in a recognizable binary form that repeats in a new key. The large A serves as a recapitulation of the opening section and it ends lightly and playfully in keeping with the Divertimento title that means to divert or amuse.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
14 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Divertimento for Woodwind Quartet

Reviews of Divertimento for Woodwind Quartet

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...