Elements for Saxophone Quartet and Orchestra

Full details...
page one of Elements for Saxophone Quartet and Orchestra

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

"Elements" and is designed to musically portray the essential nature of the Classical Greek elements, fire, water, air and earth and their astrological implications. The first movement is Fire whose essential nature is strong and controlling. The music contains a lot of forceful sections, primarily in a homophonic style. The water element’s chief characteristic is sensitivity, therefore it is in a slow tempo and is lyrical and harmonically rich. The chief characteristic of the air element it is changeable, therefore this movement is filled with contrasts of texture, dynamics, articulation, meter, tonality, and orchestration. This last movement represents the Earth element whose main characteristic is stability. To represent stability musically, a lot of ostinatos were used. This work was commissioned by the h2 quartet in order to perform with a high school orchestra. Several substitute parts are provided. The score prints on legal size paper and the parts on letter.

Score ID
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
10 minutes
Orchestra + solo Alto Saxophone
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Elements for Saxophone Quartet and Orchestra

Reviews of Elements for Saxophone Quartet and Orchestra

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...