Beethoven: String Quintet Op.4 (adapted from the Octet for wind Op.103) Mvt.I - wind quintet

Adapted from the Octet in E-flat major, Op. 103

L. van Beethoven
Ray Thompson
Full details...
page one of Beethoven: String Quintet Op.4 (adapted from the Octet for wind Op.103) Mvt.I - wind quintet

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The String Quintet in E-flat major, Op. 4, was composed by Ludwig van Beethoven in 1795. It was adapted from his Octet in E-flat major, Op. 103, which, despite its high opus number, was in fact composed by Beethoven in 1792/1793 but was published only in 1837, ten years after the composer's death. The Quintet was published in Vienna in 1796.

The quintet has been viewed as a mere transcription of the octet. However, there are a few differences between the two works. In the first movement, there are significant changes in the exposition and substantial ones in the development, reprise, and ending. The ensuing Andante employs new themes and involves significant changes in the ones retained. The Scherzo and finale are also substantially different: among other alterations, a second trio was added to the former and a new alternate theme was inserted in the latter.

This arrangement is for wind quintet. (Horn in Eb) but horn in F also provided.

Score ID
L. van Beethoven
Year of composition
Ray Thompson
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
11 minutes
Wind quintet
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Beethoven: String Quintet Op.4 (adapted from the Octet for wind Op.103) Mvt.I - wind quintet

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...