Horn Quartet - Horn Piece

Full details...
page one of Horn Quartet - Horn Piece

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

An original horn quartet inspired by a conversation about writing for horns. There are three movements.

The first movement is called Canon. It consists of a simple theme that is presented in imitation by each of the four 'voices' first at 2 bar intervals then, in inversion at four bar intervals and then in the original form at one bar intervals. There is a linking fanfare-like passage before the final statement of the original motif with fanfare-like adaptations.

The second movement is called Lullaby. The elegant, drifting melody is passed around the four players with a largely chordal accompaniment pattern that needs to be played sotto voce at all times. The tempo is marked Largo, but it is still one-in-a-bar.

The third movement is called Hullabaloo-haloo-haloo. While it is based on a 6/8 cantering rhythm, there is a lot of variation in both the accompaniment and the melody. Again, all the lines have a lot of interest, nobody has to play simple um-chucks, and there's even a solo for the 4th horn at the end.

This is a really enjoyable and exciting new addition to the horn quartet repertoire.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
6 minutes
Brass quartet
Modern classical music
Related scores
Brass Quartet - Semper Dowland Suite, Brass Quartet - Bass Soonest (Low Brass), Brass Quintet - If It's Not Baroquen..., Brass Quartet - A Foregone Conclusion, Brass Quartet - Hans Leo Hassler - Kyrie and Sanctus from Missa Secunda, Brass Quartet - Titans, Horn Sonata No. 4 - 1st. Movement - French Horn and Piano, Brass Quartet - Ach, Lieb, Hier Ist Das Herze., Horn Sonata No. 2 - 3rd. Movement - Allegro vivace, Brass Quartet - Five 2-part Inventions - BWV 772, 773, 774, 775 and 778, Brass Quartet - 14. Magnificat il Settimo Tono, Brass Quartet - 13. Magnificat sul Quinto Tono, Brass Quartet - 12. Quia Vidisti Me, Thoma, Brass Quartet - 11. Tu Es Petrus, Brass Quartet - 10. Ego Sum Resurrectio, Horn Sonata No. 2 - 2nd. Movement - Adagio, Brass Quartet - 09. Inter Natos Mulierum, Brass Quartet - 08. Beata Es Virgo Maria, Brass Quartet - 07. Dixit Maria, Brass Quartet - 06. Diligam Te, Domine, Brass Quartet - 05. Domine Deus Meus, Brass Quartet - 04. Beatus Vir, Brass Quartet - 03. Beati Omnes, Brass Quartet - 02. Cantate Domino à4, Brass Quartet - 01. Angelus Ad Pastores, Brass Quartet - Cantiones Sacrae 1592, Brass Quartet - A Gabrieli Suite, Brass Quartet - French Suite No 3 BWV 814, Brass Quartet - French Suite No 5 BWV 816, Brass Quartet - Quartet No 1., Brass Quartet - O Magnum Mysterium, Horn Sonata No. 2 - 1st Movement - Andante a piacere, Horn Sonata No. 2 (Complete), Horn Sonata No. 1 (Complete), Brass Quartet - Punctus Contra Punctus, Brass Quartet - No Hassle Hassler and Horn Quartet - La Folia

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Horn Quartet - Horn Piece

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...