Horn Sonata No. 2 (Complete)

Full details...
page one of Horn Sonata No. 2 (Complete)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This is my second Horn Sonata for unaccompanied horn . Like the first, it has 3 movements, each oif which can be played on their own.

1st. Movement: Andante piacere

The music of the first section is based on the opening idea. The descending glissandos and the repeated note figures should be taken in a leisurely way, a piacere, rather than in totally strict time. In bar 10, the flz should appear out of the tied note, without a fresh tongue.

From letter A, the music is based on the repeated note patterns which are gradually developed and metamorphosed into new shapes in a gradual process. At letter B, a second motif is added which is more expressive and dynamically diverse. The development of this idea reaches a climax at the rall befor letter C, frome where this idea becomes more frenetic and agitated until it 'tires itself out' in the pauses before letter D.

Here the original repeated note motif reappears to provide a basic ternary shape as the original ideas, changed by the development process are re-stated in their new forms. The closing pauses should be played as marked, with comma breaks, but not between the two notes in the penultimate bar.

2nd Movement: Adagio

This movement is slow and wistful, atmospheric and drifting. Each phrase should be given its own space. Each individual motif has its own rises and falls and these should be tastefully exaggerated to give them as much definition as possible. 3rd. Movement: Allegro vivace

This movement is intended to be flashy and full of life. The 7/8 time signature gives it plenty of off-beat vivacity. Players will need to make sure they know what the pulse is as it shifts from 2+2+3 to 2+3+2 and 3+2+2.

Much of the material (motifs) are related to the music of the first two movements so this rousing finale will brig a sense of completeness to the performance of the sonata, though it can, of course, be played as a separate piece in its own right.

This movement is both enjoyable and challenging, requiring a good technique and countin skills. The subtle shifts to 6/8 and 5/8 - and even 3/4 time need to be treated with care.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
Solo instrument (Horn in F)
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Horn Sonata No. 2 (Complete)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...