Prelude and Fugue

Full details...
page one of Prelude and Fugue

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This Prelude and Fugue is for string orchestra and percussion and was originally written in 1967 when I was still a teenager. In 2018 I decided it some sufficient merit to rework the two sections, leaving the first section (‘Prelude’) much the same, as well as the theme for the fugue. The number of percussion instruments, however, has been reduced significantly to three players. The score also has parts for timpani and piano.

The total duration in this revised and rewritten work is 6 minutes 45 seconds. Although very chromatic, the essential tonality is D minor. My output does not have much in the way of fugues, so this is an attempt to fill that gap. The fugue theme contains the usually ‘subject’ and ‘countersubject’ and is developed in a similar fashion to traditional fugues, but with a post-Bartókian feel.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
7 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Prelude and Fugue

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...