Fantasy for Organ

Organ Solo

Full details...
page one of Fantasy for Organ

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The Fantasy for Organ is based on a programme – the transition of autumn into winter. This composition centers around the key of C-sharp minor. The work begins with a 21-note theme played softly in the pedal, a theme which forms the basis for the entire piece. There follows a development in continuous quintuplet-note figures. The quintuplets are meant to suggest images of falling leaves swirling in the wind. The music unfolds with a sequential selection of the notes of the 21-note theme, shifting frames forward until all of the notes have been utilized. The first part ends with a pronounced restatement of the 21-note theme in the pedal, fading down to a short caesura before the second theme enters. The second theme, in contrast, is quiet, in stream-harmonies of triads. It is meant to evoke images of blue sky, still air, and sunlight streaming through colored leaves. The work next leads to a beating pedal base, then a re-entrance of the quintuplets in the minor mode, suggesting the development of a chill in the air. The latter passage leads to thin, major-mode quintuplets in the treble only, suggesting falling of the first snowflakes. There follows an increasing intensity of the snowflake figures, leading to a treble trill in the manual and the entrance of the 21-note theme in the pedal, developing into a fugal progression. The fugue proceeds with increasingly dissonant focus, suggesting a developing storm of snow, giving way to the main development section. The main section consists of quintuplets, presented in louder notes from the organ and a pronounced, double-pedal counterpoint. This section suggests a snowstorm. Then, quintuplet passages open into the original 21-note theme in the treble, in triadic streams, followed by a fugal progression of the theme leading to a caesura. The second theme quietly enters again, but increases in intensity, giving way to a re-entrance of the quintuplet figures in full-organ register with an extended scale figure in the bass. The figure is repeated in mirror counterpoint with double-pedal notes. The composition ends in the minor mode, with three punctuated chords, implying a final end to autumn.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
8 minutes
Solo instrument (Organ [manuals with pedals])
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Fantasy for Organ

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...