Two Excerpts from the G minor Symphony (for solo classical guitar) 5 pp

W. A. Mozart
Full details...
page one of Two Excerpts from the G minor Symphony  (for solo classical guitar)  5 pp

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart 1756 - 1791

Mozart, whom his sister recounted as picking thirds out on the family clavier at the age of three for the pleasure of it, has been described as achieving miracles of sound across every emotion. Indeed one runs out of superlatives trying to do justice to the quality and originality of his compositions and the abundance of output. Anyone learning about his relatively short life must also add a tribute to his resolve and courage. The ('great') G minor Symphony No.40 (1788) is the second last symphony Mozart wrote and is placed with his finest work. This guitar transcription of excerpts was done as an exercise after reading Schoenberg's analysis of them in his Structural Functions of Harmony, one of several very illuminating books he wrote on composition. Mozart has few peers when it comes to this kind of elaborate development. Of moderate difficulty for the guitarist, the passages are charming played at a pace that suits. They don't need to be played at tempo for the scintillating counterpoint and rich harmonic transformations to be fully revealed. Bar numbers are from the symphonic score.

Score ID
W. A. Mozart
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
8 minutes
Solo instrument (Classical Guitar [notation])
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Two Excerpts from the G minor Symphony (for solo classical guitar) 5 pp

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...