Symphony No 04 (A Wine Symphony) mvts 1 & 2

Full details...
page one of Symphony No 04 (A Wine Symphony) mvts 1 & 2

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

SYMPHONY NO 4 A WINE SYMPHONY Derek Bourgeois Opus 58

THEMES All the main themes are associated with grape varieties, and appear in each movement (of which there are 9)according to the varieties used by the region itself. The passacaglia theme in the seventh movement (ALSACE) is made up of the key note of each movement in the right order, with note lengths and gaps according to the length and distribution of each movement.

Although the organisation of the symphony is very strict, and the blend of the themes as represented by the grape varieties of each region is carefully adhered to, the character of the music of each movement is my own subjective response to the wines of the region. Wines lovingly recalled during the composition of each movement appear in brackets after the titles.

1 Prelude - CHAMPAGNE

Tonal centre F minor - (Louis Roederer Cristal Brut, Krug, Taittinger Comtes de Champagnes, Mo?t & Chandon, Dom Perignon) After a popping cork, and amidst rising bubbles throughout the rest of the orchestra, the brass play in counterpoint the two themes representing the two grapes that are blended to make champagne, the Pinot Noir and the Pinot Chardonnay. As this subsides, the movement leads straight into :-

2 Sonata - BORDEAUX

Tonal centre E minor (Ch?teaux Lafite, Petrus, Mouton Rothschild, Latour, Margaux, Haut Brion, Ausone, Cheval Blanc, Vieux Ch?teau Certan, Figeac, Haut Brion Blanc and Yquem) This movement is in strict sonata form. If the exposition seems a little severe, it is because it represents the young wines (yet undrinkable) of the M?doc and Saint Emilion / Pomerol. Time (and the recapitulation) will mellow them. The white wines of Graves and the great sweet wines of Sauternes are represented at the end of the development. Exposition 1st subject group Cabernet Sauvignon (and Cabernet Franc, its inversion) is the principal grape variety of the M?doc. Later in the movement it is blended with the :- 2nd Subject group Merlot - principal grape variety of St Emilion and Pomerol, much softer in its youth than the Cabernets, but still unresolved. Development Here the blending is done as the grape varieties struggle to assert their true characteristics. As the development reaches its close we hear first the Sauvignon Blanc theme, the grape of white Graves (and a close relative of the Cabernet Sauvignon) and then the Semillon which produces the lush sweet wines of the Sauternes, overwhelming in their richness. As this fades we begin the :- Recapitulation Here the themes of the exposition mellow and yield their true character. Coda The wistfulness that always accompanies the departure of a great bottle of wine is characterised here.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
11 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Symphony No 04 (A Wine Symphony) mvts 1 & 2

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...