The Congo Square Concerto I

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
World music
Large mixed ensemble
Instrumental parts
Not available
Related scores

The Congo Square Concerto I.

Inspired from the history of the early slaves who would gather around the square to dance, sing and be full of elation to the beat of drums and percussions. This ceremonious enactment of old customs from Africa, was a spiritual necessity for the mind and a way of empowering mind and soul with a sense of dignity, to reconstruct from memory old customs and a way of life, a community spirit which had been left behind in Africa. It is one thing to be up rooted, displaced and planted on a new and hostile environment, where the meaning of daily life meant a rootless and thoughtless form of an existence where the only sense and purpose of life was to stay alive!!!, yet it takes a certain courage to be inspired to continue with daily life and have the capacity to sing, to cry and to look with hope towards the future for deliverance. Music was a food for the soul to these countless folks who wandered around the lands from end to end with utter despair and no hope for the future.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Emmanuel Tanka Fonta. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Emmanuel Tanka Fonta has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.