I Sing of a Maiden

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available
Related scores
Peter Mass (revised 2011), Themes on a Variation, The Spirit of God TTB, Blessed are those / Beati qui ad cenam, Versicles & Responses (1662) for Trebles (S) & Organ, Versicles & Responses (1662) for Trebles (SS) & Organ, Invocations, Ad Regias Agni Dapes (Easter) Version for SSAA Choir, Advent Psalms (Year B), Ascension Introit: Men of Galilee, Gloria (from the Missa Modalis), I know that river which flows for ever (version with harp & cello), Stand up, friends!, Missa Modalis, Father, make them holy (TTB), I know that river which flows for ever, Pater, sanctifica eos in veritate (TTB), Litany of Saints for Ordinations, Litany of Saints, Mary had a Baby, O sacrum convivium, Fantasia: ’Pange lingua’, Spiritus Domini super me SATB, Advent Alleluia, Toccata Postlude on 'Veni Creator Spiritus', Capriol Suite arr. for 6 hands (Bransles), Spiritus Domini super me TTB, Beati qui habitant in domo tua, Domine (TTB), Tu es Petrus, The Spirit of God SATB, Alleluia (Gospel Acclamation), Ave verum corpus: Hail to thee (SAB version), Advent Entrance Antiphon: Christ our King is coming/Rex noster adveniet Christus, In paradisum (from Fauré Requiem), Advent Entrance Antiphon: A shoot will spring/Egredietur virga, Advent Entrance Antiphon: The Lord is coming/Veniet Dominus, Tintinnabula (Sonata), Six Little Piano Pieces, Ad Regias Agni Dapes (Easter) (TTBB), Never Weather-beaten Saile, Ave verum corpus: Hail to thee! true Body (8 part version), Advent Entrance Antiphon: To you, my God/Ad te levavi, Advent Psalms (Year A), Chaconne Mass, Godhead here in hiding (Adoro te devote), Beata es, Virgo Maria (TTB) and Salve Regina

I Sing of a Maiden was composed for the Christmas Midnight Mass, 1999 which was held in a Big Top in Winchester to mark the Millennium.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Phillip Pennington Harris. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Phillip Pennington Harris has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.