Home > Orchestra > For God So Loved the World

For God So Loved the World

Year of composition
John 3:16; 1 John 4,5 (RMS)
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
9 minutes
Instrumental parts
Not available
Related scores

"For God So Loved the World" is an SATB Choral setting of the popular biblical text, John 3:16. I set this text because there are not many, if any, contemporary settings appropriate for worship. The verses for soprano soli are appropriate for weddings, as well as for Easter services.

"For God So Loved the World" is for SATB Chorus, Soprano soli, Soprano Saxophone, Flute, Oboe, String Quintet, 2 Trumpets, Timpani, Percussion and Piano. The piece can be performed with any combination of the above instruments, or with substitutions for instruments in the same key.

I also have individual instrumental parts available. Let me know if you are interested.

"For God So Loved the World" was premiered by the Choir and Chamber Orchestra of St. Raphael’s Church, Rockville, MD, USA in April, 2000.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Rolando Sanz. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Rolando Sanz has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.