Die Nacht fallt

Full details...
page one of Die Nacht fallt

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Die Nacht fällt (The Night Falls), was written for the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra’s 2003 21st Century Australian Composers’ Program between February and May 2003. This piece is part of a trio of works that use similar musical elements to emphasise various representations of Night. Die Nacht fällt represents its sinister side, something with which we have associated night for an age. The main emphasis of this work is to incorporate quartertones into a number of harmonic “Fields.” To make the distinction between these quartertonal Harmonic Fields obvious, each is given their own texture. The textures and gestures of this work constantly repeat, but with slight changes every time causing a gradual development. This repetitive predicament represents somewhat the cyclic nature of night.

The work is organised into three sections. The first section is violent with the main idea centered on quartertonal string glissandi. Gradually a melodic idea is added in the Oboe and Bassoon as well as a Brass static chordal gesture. A calmer trill and tremolo texture is added in between repeats of this initial gesture. The second section is calmer and slower emphasising a more melodic texture with sustained accompaniment. Bright metallic percussion representing points of light is also a feature. Different Harmonic Fields as well as the inversion of the original quartertonal Harmonic Field are used here. The third section is similar to the first only it becomes even more dense and violent, culminating in the climax of the work, before ending with a short reminiscent Coda composed of mostly string and woodwind harmonics.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Die Nacht fallt

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...