Toccata from L'Orfeo

Claudio Monteverdi
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
1 minute
Classical music
Brass quartet
Related scores
Sonata VII for Two Trumpets & Strings, Trombatorium, Five Ceremonial Fanfares, Concerto Grosso No. 12 'La Follia' for brass ensemble, Sonada 1652 for eight trumpets, The Harmonious Blacksmith for Brass Quintet, Monteverdi Vespers - Deus in Adjutorium for Brass Quintet, Canzona "La Battalia" for Three Brass Quintets, 'Queen of the Night Aria' for Brass Quintet, Overture from the Easter Oratorio, Rondo Alla Turca for Brass Quintet, Overture from Cantata BWV 194 for Six Trumpets, Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 for Brass Quintet (1), Missa Papea Marcelli, Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 for Brass Quintet (iii), Concerto for Four Trumpets, Abblasen for Four Trumpets, Concerto Grosso Op. 6 No. 2 for Brass Quintet, Valles Marineris, for Trumpet and Piano, Symphony in C Major for four trumpets and timpani, Concerto in A Minor, BWV 1041 for Brass Quintet, Concerto in E Major, BWV 1042 for brass quintet, A French Baroque Festival for Brass Quintet, Sonata a 6 for natural trumpet & strings, Four Arias from 'Carmen' for Soprano & Brass Quintet, Sonata in C Major for String Quartet, Canzona V for Seven Cellos, Pictures at an Exhibition for Symphonic Brass, Prelude and Fugue in G Major (WTC Book 1), Italian Concerto for Brass Quintet, Pictures at an Exhibition for Ten-Part Brass, Two Fanfares from the 'Christmas Oratorio', Water Music Suite for Brass Quintet, Oh The Pleasure of the Plains!, Danny Boy (trombone and piano), Toccata and Fugue in D Minor for Symphonic Brass, Two Arias from Samson & Delilah for Soprano and Brass Quintet, Trumpet Tune & Air (ten-part brass), Overture to 'The Magic Flute', Erschallet, Trompeten!, The Silver Swan (voice and piano), Sinfonia for 6 trumpets, Gymnopedie No. 1 for Brass Quintet, Couperin Suite, Canzona for Four Flatt Trumpets, Fanfares for Four Trumpets, Handel’s Messiah - Six Festive Choruses for Brass Ensemble, Prelude & Fugue BWV 550, Spem in Alium (eight brass quintets), Overture from the 'Christmas Oratorio' for Ten-piece Brass, Possible Worlds (for piano solo), Deo Gratias for Large Brass Choir, Sinfonia from Cantata BWV 29 for Brass Quintet and Organ, Shore's Trumpet, Ronde and Variations for String Quartet and Four Preludes and Fugues from the Well-Tempered Clavier (Book One) for Brass Quintet

Montverdi's "Orfeo" (1607) broke musical ground in many areas. Notably, this was the first notated use of trumpets in the theatre - previously, they had been confined to military roles, signalling and noise-making in general, but here they prelude a sophisticated evening of Baroque opera. Two trombones are used here, rather than the two low trumpets, and I've added a pair of kettledrums just for fun.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Graham Dixon. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Graham Dixon has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.