Moonlight Obbligata!

Full details...
page one of Moonlight Obbligata!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Whilst I have had some fun with adding ’extra’ parts to exisitng classical pieces, on this occasion I have tried to complement Beethoven’s original piano piece by adding a primo part over the top which hopefully does not significantly alter the mood and sense of the original, unlike such arrangements as my Samba alla Turca!.
Beethoven’s part is left basically intact, with just a couple of minor tweaks here and there to allow for better part-writing in the primo. The primo part is not difficult, so could easily be played by another student, to provide a ready-made duet.
I have slipped in a couple of extra ’Beethoven’ references in the added part towards the end, to keep players and listeners on their toes!
If the original key of C# minor proves a problem, do please transpose it, say, to D minor. I have also made another arrangement, subtitled Moonlight Dolcelatta! where the primo has been transribed for two flutes, and set up a semitone. I plan to upload this too, in due course.

Score ID
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
5 minutes
Piano four hands
Classical music
Related scores

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Moonlight Obbligata!

Reviews of Moonlight Obbligata!

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...