Home > Solo instrument > Four Pieces for Piano (3. Bredon)

Four Pieces for Piano (3. Bredon)

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
Modern classical music
Solo instrument (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

These four pieces were written in the mid 1970s. Pfwssssh…. was performed by Lena Jeffrey in a concert at her school in Edinburgh, but the authorities decided that the rather more mundane 'Vivace ritmico' was a more suitable title for the young ladies in the audience! Speed the Plough was an essay in the direction of popular jazz style; Bredon was inspired by the sights and sounds on Bredon Hill, Worcestershire (an area which also inspired the poet A. E. Housman), and Quints was written for a friend who decided she needed something a bit more gritty to play.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Richard Grylls. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Richard Grylls has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.