CN2 - Gregynog

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
1 minute
Modern classical music
Solo instrument (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

WORK IN PROGRESS - Double Piano piece.

Firstly, let me explain the title.

"CN2" means that this piece is the second instalment of my "Cumulus Nimbus" double piano piece (still not happy with that name), using the same theme but entwined in the music rather than being brought to the foreground.

"Gregynog" is the name of a Conference Centre in Mid Wales in which I got the inspiration to write this piece. For my third year Computer Science degree at the University of Wales Swansea, we all take a trip down to Gregynog to give presentations on our project, to hear presentations about employement, phd life and so on, then all join together students & lecturers for a nice pissup each night at the bar! They also had two pianos and an organ I had a play on during our free time, and so I give you this.

The general idea is that the two pianos are duelling to play the most impressive music, easily seen in the middle section where one piano is playing percussive lower quavers while the other plays a tune over the top. The first piano shows what he's made of, but when it comes to their turn the other the piano thinks "I can beat you! See, I put two chords at the beginning instead of one, and I have nice octave leaps and runs, you don't!" You get the idea!

As I said above it's a work in progress, and I intend to continue the 'nicer' idea just introduced… but I've hit a brick wall about 27 miles thick! I haven't been able to write anything more that's good for several months now…

So, any suggestions and thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Mark Simkins. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Mark Simkins has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.