Tilly The Tomboy Visits The Poor

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Classical music
Concert band / wind band
Instrumental parts
Not available

Another score commissioned by Surrey Brass to accompany the rare showing of an early British silent film made at the Hepworth Studios, Walton-On-Thames, Surrey, in 1910. This was one of a series of slapstick comedy films featuring Tilly The Tomboy and her partner in crime which were hugely popular in their day and made stars of the two local girls who played them, Chrissie White and Alma Taylor. In this film, the Tomboys are told to go and look after a poor sick old lady but instead reak havoc as they charge around their village, knocking over tradesmen, stealing a laundry van and invading a bakehouse. It's reminiscent of a Benny Hill chase as more and more people join in line to catch the girls ….. and when they finally do, the girls are to be found sitting caring for the sick old lady, looking as if butter wouldn't melt in their mouth. Great fun and remarkably sophisticated for its day.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by John Hughes. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com John Hughes has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.