Symphony no. 1 in G 'Nero Fonja' 1st movement

Full details...
page one of Symphony no. 1 in G 'Nero Fonja' 1st movement

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Undoubtedly the biggest of my works so far, the Nero Fonja symphony is intended for performance with a small Romantic-size orchestra and organ (though it doesn't appear in this movement). Brahms was a thematic influence on this one, though a friend pointed out the structure was based on Tchaikovsky's Romeo and Juliet. I've been working on this since 2003, and this is the rough draft of the first movement. It has most of the notes but very few expression markings.

Note: Compositional issues in the remaining movements mean that this symphony probably will never be completed. I plan on recasting it as a single-movement concert overture sometime in the future.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
11 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Symphony no. 1 in G 'Nero Fonja' 1st movement

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...