Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
4 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available
Related scores

Technically, not a fugue in the simple, tonal sense, this piece does fulfill the requirements of a Newtonal fugue. As tends to happen when working out a Newtonal piece, a trade-off between one type of complexity for another is often necessary in order to make the composition workable. The complexity of counterpoint and part-writing diminishes proportionally as the complexity of phase-structure and other formal considerations increases. This is a reasonable principle even when applied to purely tonal music. It is set in a "slow-movement" form of my own design and one particularly suitable for music - tonal or newtonal - whose texture is predominantly contrapuntal. After the long introduction to this act, culminating in the first appearance of the Flame of Life, the function of this section may be seen as that of providing a simple, solid structure to act as a backdrop to the high drama which follows. It is a symbolic representation of the interactions and tensions between the three principal characters.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Nick Capocci. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Nick Capocci has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.