Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
11 minutes
Modern classical music
Large mixed ensemble
Instrumental parts
Not available

This piece was written at a particularly difficult time [on a personal front] and I think represents a lot of the emotions I was experiencing at that moment. For me, the piece consists of 3 sections. The opening is melancholic and rather self indulgent and leads to a more abstract middle section with splashes of anger and frustration. The piece closes with an end section which is definately sad and mournful [Please note the pizzicato cello, this should represent a heartbeat]. I realise this piece has errors in the overall structure and key changes [or lack of] but I felt that the a minor key gives just the right amount of melancholy. The instrumentation may be problematic also. I guess it's a work in progress and I would appreciate any feedback.


Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Stuart Hyson. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Stuart Hyson has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.