Home > Trio > Four Trios from Petrucci’s Odhecaton

Four Trios from Petrucci’s Odhecaton

Vincenet and anon
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
5 minutes
Classical music
Trio (Soprano Recorder)
Instrumental parts
Not available

This set of four trios marks the five hundredth anniversary of the publication in 1501 by Ottaviano Petrucci of Harmonice Musices Odhecaton A. This collection of nearly 100 pieces was the first music to be printed with movable type.

The music is transposed up a fourth to suit modern recorders. I have suggested some musica ficta, but players can make up their own minds about what is appropriate. The original note values are retained.

No parts are provided as it is possible to play from the score.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Chris May. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Chris May has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.