’Scene 1 - The Street’ from the opera ’Anna’s Story’

Year of composition
Nigel Fletcher
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
Rock and Pop Music
Voice + keyboard
Instrumental parts
Not available

This is the first scene from the rock opera. The scene introduces the main characters in the opera, The Street Children, The Pimp and Anna. It outlines some of their difficulties of living on the street. The opera is aimed at 14 to 18 year olds. If anyone would consider performing a workshop performance of this scene please contact me. The whole of scene 1 has been orchestrated see "We live out here in the street’, ’Hello. that’s alright’ and ’end of scene one’.

Reviews form Sibelius music:-

Excellent Not exactly what you’d expect from a rock opera, it’s brilliant. It makes me sad to think that I live in America and can’t help to workshop this piece. A superb mix of traditional swinging rhythms and recitative sections. I love the characterization of the four street urchins, and would love to see it developed more. To the composer, excellent work.

Samuel Hunter

Intriguing Well, I don’t know much about rock opera, belonging to the classical music tradition, but this intro made me want to see the whole show. Perhaps I will one day - in London’s West End, if this composer gets the recognition and encouragement he deserves.

Barry Stronge

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Nigel Fletcher. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Nigel Fletcher has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.