Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
2 minutes
Modern classical music
Large mixed ensemble
Instrumental parts
Not available
Related scores

Fugue and serialist composition have many similarities. In the case of this composition the subject coincides with the complete presentation of the twelve-tone row. Traditionally various forms of episodic fugal material may consist of subjects being inverted, retrograded and also treated canonically. The nature of serialist composition also involves the manipulation of subjects in the same manner with the addition of the retrograded inversion form and also the use of stretto.Footsteps was composed with a definite programme in mind and was inspired by the composer?s three young nieces. The piece is intended to represent children tip-toeing around a house in the dead of night seeking adventure and excitement. The use of pointillist techniques, random pizzicato and the choice of Celeste as the fourth instrument are all paramount in the portrayal of this programme.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Michael Walters. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Michael Walters has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.