Knights of the Skies

Full details...
page one of Knights of the Skies

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Knights of the Skies Composer: Peter Bray

Introduction The included work is a suite for brass band set out in three movements, and is initially dedicated to Morecambe Band as part of a competition entry to celebrate their centenary year, 2004. The inspiration for the work comes from the role of the Royal Air Force, and is a tribute to the courage and bravery of serving personnel both past and present.

The First Movement (Concert B flat) The first movement is a march in traditional style entitled ?Marching on Air?. This movement has an unashamedly triumphant air about it, as it portrays a fly past and salute to the pilots, aircrew and aircraft synonymous with the First and Second World Wars.

The Second Movement (Concert C minor) The second movement entitled ?An Elegy to the Stricken?. Here the music is sombre, and is directed towards the harrowing and dangerous tasks of rescue. Be it the rescue of disaster victims or the inevitable casualties of war. A feature of this movement is the steady drum beat representing the relentless beat of propellers or rotor blades.

The Third Movement (Concert B flat) Written in ternary form, the third and last movement entitled ?Jet Stream? is a celebration and show time. The movement brings us bang up to-date with the agility of the modern jet fighter and the awesome aerobatics of the Red Arrows display team.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
7 minutes
Concert band / wind band

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Knights of the Skies

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...