Home > Other > Bagatelle No.1 for Clarinet and Synthetic Orchestra

Bagatelle No.1 for Clarinet and Synthetic Orchestra

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
4 minutes
Instrumental parts
Not available

This work is intended for young performers/school orchestra. It was written for a young clarinetist called Stephen. The orchestration is highly unusual comprising a solo clarinet supported by synthesisers and orchestra or 'Synthetic Orchestra'. The initial 'A' theme is cheeky and bouncy, though this leads abruptly into a more sinister 'B' bridge. The 'C' section is more mellow and offers some relief before a complex recapitulation of the main theme is delivered. A short coda brings about an unexpected end.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Jonathan Mitchell. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Jonathan Mitchell has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.