Home > Large mixed ensemble > The Beggar's Opera: 26. When you Censure the Age

The Beggar's Opera: 26. When you Censure the Age

John Gay
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
1 minute
Classical music
Large mixed ensemble

Peachum and Lockit are doing business together: they have agreed to go halves over the price on MacHeath's head. They are lamenting the fact that the government has been slow to pay up for the villains they have turned over to them, and there is more than a suggestion of corruption here, but Lockit advises Peachum to be careful of making enemies. It seems that sleaze was alive and well even in the 18th century!

The original tune is named as "How Happy are we" but I haven't been able to find any further details. I made it a bagpipe-y sound because I just thought it seemed to suit the tune!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Linda Fox. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Linda Fox has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.