Free Born

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
Modern classical music
Concert band / wind band
Instrumental parts
Not available

My 2004 Semester 1 major work at uni. This piece came out quite well, with a string of great ideas all falling into place. The piece is loosely based on events from the "Shannara" novels by Terry Brooks.

The piece is divided into 9 sections: I. Cry of the Free Born II. Oppression III. Uprising IV. Into Battle V. The Aftermath VI. Regroup VII. Second Battle VIII. Victory March IX. Free Born

The original version of this piece requires a large percussion section - 6 players, to be precise, and where possible it would be preferred that it be played in this format. However, I do have a version written for three percussionists - please contact me if you'd like to see that version.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by David Kimpton. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to David Kimpton has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.