Lost Inside of a Reflection

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Modern classical music
Large mixed ensemble
Instrumental parts
Not available

"Lost Inside of a Reflection" is a piece for a small ensemble, piano, two flutes and cello. The pianists left hand is to play an eighth note pattern throughout the entire piece. The right hand, crossing over the left, plays the lowest note of each chord and then returns to the higher notes to play the melody. At meaure 33 the cello enters with a different melody. The flutes echo the new melody at measure 35 while the cello then plays three note chords pizzacato. The flute and cello continue to echo the melody while the piano plays an eighth note pattern. A return to the original melody is seen at meause 45 while the cello plays pizzacato notes on the off beats. The flutes return in measure 53 to play the melody with the piano. "Lost Inside of a Reflection" is a story. It is about a beautiful girl who looks into the mirror and sees a reflection which in her mind is not beautiful. Therefore the face must be covered up with needless products. I feel that this piece gives the feeling of being "lost" looking at the mirrors reflection, trying to fix what wasn't a problem in the first place.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Tim Helisek. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Tim Helisek has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.