Celebrabo te, Domine

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
15 minutes
Modern classical music
Large mixed ensemble
Instrumental parts
Not available

"Celebrabo te, Domine" (1996, version 2000, texts from Psalms) is the work that embodies some features of music that not only myself, but other composers nowadays are especially interested in: that simple diatonic melodic patterns can tell more than any sophisticated music can say. Sometimes it seems that every listener can hum some of the tunes in their head as if their own. The music is simple and natural like everyday life and you don�t need to add any special effort listen to it, but often it takes a lot of effort to perform. The work was commissioned by the Vale of Glamorgan Festival and the world premiere took place in 1996 in Wales. The work is written in one movement, but it has a few different episodes connected with different characters of the different fragments of the texts of Psalms that I have used. "Celebrabo te, Domine" also shows my deepening interest in more dramatic characteristics of music.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Mindaugas Urbaitis. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Mindaugas Urbaitis has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.