from Bachvariationen II: Variation on Prelude from Suite VI by J.S.Bach

Full details...
page one of from Bachvariationen II: Variation on Prelude from Suite VI by J.S.Bach

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

In BACHVARIATIONEN II (1999-2000) for 6 cellos, I develope a conception similar to Bachvariationen I (1985-88) for 4 violins, though it's as if these two works have exchanged their places chronologically: the first sketches using J.S. Bach's music for six cellos were written before I started to write the variations for four violins. As Bachvariationen I was based on the material of J.S. Bach's Sonatas and Partitas for Solo Violin, so Bachvariationen II refers to J.S. Bach's Suites for Solo Cello, in which the motifs and fragments - like in the earlier work - are composed on the basis of prevailing canons and imitations. The work was commissioned by the German Pavillon Expo 2000 in Hanover to commemorate the 250th anniversary of J.S.Bach's death. The world premiere of Bachvariationen II took place in four concerts on the 28th and 29th July 2000 at the August Everding Hall at the German Pavillon, during Expo 2000, and was performed by David Geringas and his former and present master-class students Tatjana Vassilieva, Troels Svane, Timothy Park, Bong-Ihn Koh and Boris Andrianov. This shorter variation on Bach's Prelude from his Suite No.6 is written on request and dedicated to David Geringas.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
7 minutes
Sextet of Solo Violoncellos
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of from Bachvariationen II: Variation on Prelude from Suite VI by J.S.Bach

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...