Symphony No 17 6th movement - Love

Full details...
page one of Symphony No 17 6th movement - Love

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Symphony No 17 6th movement ? Love

The first movement of my first Violin Sonata is featured here intact, but is interrupted about two thirds of the way through by a new agitato episode for orchestra alone. At the age of 18 I stayed up all night in my rooms at Cambridge in November 1959 to write this movement for the girl (a violinist) whom I had just met, and presented her with it the next day. She had been my wife since 1965 and after she developed Motor Neurone Disease (ALS) in 2003 I started to write this Symphony in order to try to help her overcome the terrible experience of wasting slowly away as the muscles in her body die bit by bit. The early Sonata meant a lot to both of us and that is why it has been quoted in every movement of the Symphony. She died of the disease in 2006 unable to move or speak.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
9 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Symphony No 17 6th movement - Love

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...