MEDLOCK WAY 2. Leesbrook Mill

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
6 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

Leesbrook Mill still stands beside the infant river Medlock. (See my note to the first movement.) Having hardly begun to take shape and build up a momentum of its own, the stream was targeted for its usefulness as a source of energy and a convenient mode of waste disposal by the promoters of industrialisation in the late 18th and nineteenth centuries, continuing to service the relentless ambitions of human pride and greed until well into the 20th century. The music of this second movement of my Medlock Way suite reflects the cruel exploitation of natural and human resources that led to financial success for the entrepreneur and frustration and dehumanisation for the working people enslaved, in my view, into making money for them. You can hear the engines of the cotton and steel mills turning as the music unfolds. In the prominent, improvisatory piano music towards the end I have given expression to some of the helplessness, anger and sadness I feel as I think of those of my own family, a generation or so ago, whose lives were stunted by the working conditions of the cotton or steel mills.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Graham G. Marshall. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Graham G. Marshall has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.