Saraband from Cello Suite V for Tuba & Piano (Tuba Sonata movement 2)

J. S. Bach
Full details...
page one of Saraband from  Cello Suite V for Tuba & Piano (Tuba Sonata movement 2)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This is a setting of the saraband from Cello Suite No 5 by J. S. Bach. I have always loved playing the Bach cello suites on the tuba and thought it would be interesting to set this one as the second movement of my Tuba Sonata with a piano accompaniment.

I have tried to point up the implicit harmony from the solo line but have not tried to write a Bach piano part (as I don't have the skill or knowledge). The piano part goes from simplicity to extreme virtuosity. It is posted at this time to illicit comments from pianists on the piano part, as I am not a pianist. Anyone with any comments about the technical issues of the piano part, playability layout etc please drop me an e-mail.

The first movement is well underway and is a free fanatsy. The third movement will be a theme and variations as a homage to Jean Baptiste Arban.

Anyone interested in playing this please e-mail me.

David Carter

Score ID
J. S. Bach
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
4 minutes
Solo Tuba + piano
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Saraband from Cello Suite V for Tuba & Piano (Tuba Sonata movement 2)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...