Brandenburg Concerto No.3, 1st movement - wind quintet

J S Bach
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
3 minutes
Classical music
Wind quintet
Instrumental parts
Related scores
Suo Gan - trombone quartet, Suo Gan - flute quartet, Rhapsody in Blue - brass ensemble, The Great Gate of Kiev from ’Pictures’ - brass ensemble, Chorale Theme from the Organ Symphony (No.3, Op.78) - brass ensemble, Clarinet Quintet KV581 (4th movement) - clarinet quintet, American Patrol - clarinet quintet, Divertissimo No.4 (Menuetto) - sax quartet, Triumphal March based on Nun Danket Alle Gotte - brass quintet, Divertissimo No.2 (Waltz) - clarinet quintet, The Arrival of The Queen of Sheba - clarinet quintet, Brandenburg Concerto No.3, 1st movement - clarinet quintet, Concerto for Mandolin and Strings (1st mvt) Gimo 297 - string quartet, Brandenburg Concerto No.3, 1st movement - sax quintet, Turkish Rondo - sax ensemble, Scherzo & Trio from the 2nd Symphony - string quartet, Brandenburg Concerto No.3, 1st movement - string quartet, Rondo from The Abdelazer Suite - wind quintet, Rondo from The Abdelazer Suite - string quartet, Myfanwy - string quartet, Sonata No.8 "Pathetique", 2nd movement - string quartet, Suo Gan - string quartet, Scherzo & Trio from the 2nd Symphony - sax quartet, Scherzo & Trio from the 2nd Symphony - brass quintet, Suo Gan - brass quintet, Fanfare from "Water Music" - brass quintet, Sonata No.8 "Pathetique", 2nd movement - brass quintet, Rondo from The Abdelazer Suite - recorder quartet, To Dots, From Jazz - big band, God Rest Ye Merrier Gentlemen - big band, Myfanwy - brass quintet, Suo Gan - wind quintet, Suo Gan - recorder quartet, Swing Dat Canon! - big band, Suo Gan - sax quartet, Rondo from The Abdelazer Suite - brass quintet, 12 Variations on ’Twinkle Twinkle Little Star’ "Ah, vous dirai-je maman" (K.265/300e) - wind quintet, Brandenburg Concerto No.3, 2nd & 3rd movements - wind quintet and Happy Birthday - wind quintet

This is a wind quintet arrangement of the 1st movement of Bach’s Brandenburg Concerto No.3. This music has been very carefully arranged to be exciting to play for all players. Whilst the parts are quite difficult, they are certainly playable by an average to good standard of ensemble.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Austin Ralphson. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Austin Ralphson has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.