Engelsche Fortuyn (3 Variations for Brass Quartet)

Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck
Difficult (Grades 7+)
2 minutes
Classical music
Brass quartet

Dutch composer, organist and teacher Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck (1562-1621) who, we have previously learned from my arrangement of Est-ce Mars? (also available here on sibeliusmusic.com), was not only a famous organist and one of the most influential and sought-after teachers of his time but also one of the leading composers, of vocal as well as of keyboard music. This work: Engelse fortuin [Von der Fortuna werd ich getrieben], Bgk, I-Tn; S i, 35; K 64; O i/3, 2 is from his secular keyboard pieces. When I came upon it I thought it would make a good brass quartet arrangement and I did just that. You can also get the optional tuba part (basically the trombone part one octave lower ? but remember "octaves are a powerful thing? - so be careful not to kill the trumpet players!!) and play it with a quintet should you so desire. Enjoy!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Warren Wernick. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Warren Wernick has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.