String Quartet in C Minor, Third Movement ("The Relentless")

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
Classical music
String quartet
Instrumental parts

I must have been in a very bitter mood when I wrote this one. It is a standard scherzo and trio, "scherzo" being the Italian word for "joke". If it is a joke, then it's a rather grim one! Two things to note here: As for all my scherzos, you should implement a D.C. at the end - Sibelius doesn't do this! Also, the accented notes at the beginnings of some bars have been put in to make sure that these are emphasized to be the first notes in the bars. In the case of bar 1, for instance, players should empahsize that the B natural is the first beat of the bar, and not the first C. It is so tempting to make the Cs and later the Gs the downbeat, which leads to a jolt at the beginning of bar 9.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Richard Bowles. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Richard Bowles has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.