Life and Afterlife: III. Dreams

Full details...
page one of Life and Afterlife: III. Dreams

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Note: This score is at sounding pitch. Parts available upon request. Commentary by Left Brain vs. Right Brain. RB: "This movement was completed in October 2004 in Lawrence, Kansas, but it seems a little rough around the edges. What gives?" LB: "The feeling of incompleteness was my attention, let me assure you. Life is replete with unfinished and unrealized dreams, but also much joy if we know how to embrace it. Although life sometimes seems overwhelming, love will triumph. Perhaps surprisingly, the soprano has a subsidiary r?le in this movement, and in one section she accompanies the orchestra rather than vice versa." RB: "For a movement entitled Dreams, it doesn't sound too dreamy. But these are the dreams of our life's aspirations, not of our sleep. Lots of times, our aspirations don't turn out as we'd hope they would. But life is more about the journey than the destination anyway." Left Brain: "To quote William Shakespeare: 'We are such stuff As dreams are made on, and our little life Is rounded with a sleep.' Mortal life is brief and moves in ways far more mysterious that we can imagine. Happiness can be attained only if we love Life unconditionally, and then we are rewarded with the Afterlife."

Score ID
Year of composition
David Stybr
Difficult (Grades 7+)
4 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Life and Afterlife: III. Dreams

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...