Contrapunctus 1 from The Art of Fugue

J. S. Bach
Full details...
page one of Contrapunctus 1 from The Art of Fugue

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

A simple transcription, without expression markings, of the first Contrapunctus. It should be played very smoothly.

Score ID
J. S. Bach
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
4 minutes
Brass quartet
Classical music
Instrumental parts
Related scores
Four Arias from 'Carmen' for Soprano & Brass Quintet, Five Ceremonial Fanfares, Sonada 1652 for eight trumpets, Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 for Brass Quintet (1), Concerto in A Minor, BWV 1041 for Brass Quintet, Trombatorium, Fanfares for Four Trumpets, No Surrender! (Variations on 'God Save the Queen') for Trombone and Piano, Pictures at an Exhibition for Ten-Part Brass, Overture from Cantata BWV 194 for Six Trumpets, Toccata and Fugue in D Minor for Symphonic Brass, Sonata a 6 for natural trumpet & strings, Missa Papea Marcelli, Possible Worlds (for piano solo), Two Arias from Samson & Delilah for Soprano and Brass Quintet, Concerto Grosso Op. 6 No. 2 for Brass Quintet, Valles Marineris, for Trumpet and Piano, Rondo Alla Turca for Brass Quintet, Danny Boy (trombone and piano), Symphony in C Major for four trumpets and timpani, Monteverdi Vespers - Deus in Adjutorium for Brass Quintet, Overture from the 'Christmas Oratorio' for Ten-piece Brass, Abblasen for Four Trumpets, Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 for Brass Quintet (iii), Concerto in D Minor BWV 1043, A French Baroque Festival for Brass Quintet, Italian Concerto for Brass Quintet, Trumpet Tune & Air (ten-part brass), Water Music Suite for Brass Quintet, Canzona V for Seven Cellos, Gymnopedie No. 1 for Brass Quintet, Concerto in E Major, BWV 1042 for brass quintet, Prelude and Fugue in G Major (WTC Book 1), The Harmonious Blacksmith for Brass Quintet, Two Fanfares from the 'Christmas Oratorio', Couperin Suite, Oh The Pleasure of the Plains!, Overture to 'The Magic Flute', Prelude & Fugue BWV 550, 'Queen of the Night Aria' for Brass Quintet, Deo Gratias for Large Brass Choir, Erschallet, Trompeten!, Spem in Alium (eight brass quintets), Overture from the Easter Oratorio, Abblasen for Brass Quintet, Shore's Trumpet, The Silver Swan (voice and piano), Handel’s Messiah - Six Festive Choruses for Brass Ensemble, Sinfonia from Cantata BWV 29 for Brass Quintet and Organ, Ronde and Variations for String Quartet, Pictures at an Exhibition for Symphonic Brass and Four Preludes and Fugues from the Well-Tempered Clavier (Book One) for Brass Quintet

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Contrapunctus 1 from The Art of Fugue

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...