I was asked to arrange this piece by a local group of instrumentalists who were playing for an Elizabethan night. I have arranged it for 2 trumpets, tenor and bass trombone. The bass trombone could easily be played by the tuba - that just leaves the french horn player…. you guessed it to play the tenor drum part. It worked well on the night and was well recieved. I have posted an alternative arrangement of this piece for 4 trombone plus tenor drum - check it out. The interesting thing about this composer of which we know very little, is that most people call him Thoinot Arbeau. So this piece became Arbeau's pavane, in fact Arbeau is an anagram of his real name Jehan Tabourot. Perhaps he used the pseudonym because he was a church canon in Langres in eastern France.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Ian Cartwright. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Ian Cartwright has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.