Chromatic Scale in Minor Thirds / Whole-Tone Scale

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
1 minute
Solo instrument (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

When I took my Grade 8 Piano exam, many years ago now, the ABRSM scalebook included two fingerings for Chromatic Scales in Minor Thirds - standard, and alternative.
The alternative fingering was much quicker, and used the thumb twice in succession. Over the years, the alternative fingering has changed, and now uses the second finger twice, which is less effective, and doesn't tie in with the alternative fingering for major scales in thirds.
Here is the original double-thumb-group fingering, which I very much recommend. It certainly did me no harm, as I was a Silver Medallist at Grade 8, obtaining the second highest marks in Great Britain & Ireland. Now, if only I'd practised more, I might have got the one extra mark to have won gold!

I have now revamped the layout to bring it in line with the latest (from 2009) ABRSM scalebook, and included the Whole-Tone Scale which also features on the same page in the Grade 8 book.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Philip R Buttall. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Philip R Buttall has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.