O magnum mysterium

Giovanni Gabrieli
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
Instrumental parts
Not available

O magnum mysterium was one of the first pieces of church music published by Giovanni Gabrieli, and has become one of his most famous and popular. It appeared as one of 11 pieces in the Concerti di Andrea e di Gio. Gabrieli 1587, edited by Giovanni after his uncle's death.

The work is in a scoring which is now recognised as standard for Venetian repertoire of this type: a high choir and a low choir, the high choir with SMABa clefs, the low one with ATTB. It is likely that the lower choir was performed by a solo falsettist and three sackbuts, possibly with a dulcian doubling the bass part; the higher choir may well have been sung chorally, or have consisted also of mixed voices and instruments.

The text is a Christmas Responsory, sung both on Christmas Day and on the Octave.

Translation: O great mystery and wonderful sacrament, that the animals should see the newborn Lord lying in a manger. O blessed Virgin, whose womb was worthy to bear the Lord Christ.

Note values have been halved in duple sections, quartered in triple time.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Michael Procter. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Michael Procter has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.