CONSTELLATION CAPERS 3. Apus (The Bird of Paradise)

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
2 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

CONSTELLATION CAPERS is a suite of ?serially easy listening music? in six movements, each dedicated to one of my family or friends.

They are:

1. Vulpecula et Anser (The Fox and The Goose)dedicated to Bill Jones - formerly titular Pro- fessor of Astronomy at Sheffiled Hallam University. Bill and I started the Astra Club at school some 50 years ago.

2. Lyra (The Lyre) dedicated to Edwin Prime, who introduced me to Berg's Violin Concerto at school.

3. Apus (The Bird of Paradise), dedicated to my younger son, Peter, who is a fanatical sup- porter of Manchester United Football Club

4. Ara (The Altar) dedicated to Fr. Philip Miller, a former Assistant Curate of mine, who shares my abhorrence of priestly prattle and religious cant.

5.Vela (The Sail) dedicated to my darling wife of 41 years, Eleanor.

6. Fornax (The Chemical Furnace) dedicated to John Peace, friend from university days and pianist extraordinary.

(A single 12-note series permeates the whole melodic and harmonic structures of the work.

My manipulation of this is purely personal. But you are welcome to investigate, if you feel the need to do so!)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Graham G. Marshall. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Graham G. Marshall has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.