Haec dicit Dominus

William Byrd
Full details...
page one of Haec dicit Dominus

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Byrd's Haec dicit Dominus belongs in spirit, if not directly, to the 'Jerusalem' motets - that group of motets with texts referring to the destruction of Jerusalem and/or the Exile, with which Byrd expressed his feelings about the loss of the Catholic church, and the 'internal exile' of the Catholics in England. To this immediate group belong Ne irascaris Domine, Vide Domine and Tribulationes civitatum, while the extraordinary Unam petii and Plorans plorabit in the Gradualia clearly share their subject material and their sentiments.

Haec dicit Dominus, published in 1591, is a non-liturgical text drawn directly from Jeremiah (Jer, 31, 15-17), clearly set in the same desolate mood as the other motets refered to - and in Byrd's setting sharing with Vide Domine the low clef combination, Mezzo, Alto, Tenor, Baritone, Bass, which is unique to these two pieces. The reference to Rachel obviously suits this piece to the nowadays rarely observed Feast of Holy Innocents, December 28.

Thus saith the Lord: A voice is heard in Ramah, lamentation and bitter weeping, Rachel weeping for her children; she refuseth to be comforted for her children, because they are not. (2. Pars) Thus saith the Lord: refrain thy voice from weeping, and thine eyes from tears; for thy work shall be rewarded, saith the Lord; and they shall come again from the land of the enemy.

Score ID
William Byrd
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
5 minutes

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Haec dicit Dominus

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...